News and Events

Presidential Transfer Scholarship

Presidential Transfer Scholarships are scholarships awarded to Southern Union students transferring to The University of Alabama, The University of Alabama at Birmingham, and Auburn University at Montgomery. 

At the end of the selection process, Southern Union will submit the name(s) of those chosen to receive a Presidential nomination. Actual scholarships are awarded by each individual transfer college. Students will be contacted by a college official and additional information may be requested. 

Application Deadlines:
The University of Alabama (UA) - February 8, 2023
The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) - February 8, 2023
Auburn University at Montgomery (AUM) - February 8, 2023 

Scholarship Requirements:

The University of Alabama (UA)

  • Earn an Associate in Science Degree from SU with a minimum GPA of 3.5 
  • Proof of Alabama Residency

The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)

  • Earn an Associate in Science Degree from SU with a minimum GPA of 3.5

Auburn University at Montgomery (AUM)

  • Earn an Associate in Science Degree from SU 

All applicants must have a completed application and submit all of the following documentation with their application.

  • Proof of admission to transfer college
  • Unofficial copy of college transcript
  • Short essay
  • Students applying to The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) must show proof of Alabama residency

Essay topic:  Short essay on your experience while attending Southern Union and your career goals.

Students receiving the Presidential Transfer Scholarship may be asked by the transfer college to serve as an ambassador or assist with transfer recruiting at the college awarding the scholarship. 

Scholarship packets must be completed online.

Online Applications can be completed by clicking on the link below:

It is the official policy of the Alabama Community College System and Southern Union State Community College that no person shall, on the grounds of race, color, disability, gender, religion, creed, national origin, marital status, or age, be excluded from participating in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program, activity, or employment.